The answer is yes, cocoa powder is gluten free. If you’re one of the millions of people who follow a gluten-free diet and you were worried you would miss out on using cocoa powder in your favorite desserts, don’t be.

Cocoa powder is naturally gluten free, as it is made from cocoa beans, which do not contain gluten. The beans are roasted and then ground into a fine powder. This powder is then used to make delicious things like milk or dark chocolate.

Don’t confuse cocoa powder with “hot chocolate powder” or “hot cocoa powder”, since those have other additional ingredients that may contain gluten.

It’s important to check the label of the cocoa powder you are buying to make sure it is gluten free. Some cocoa powders may have been processed in a facility that also processes wheat, barley, or rye, which could cause cross-contamination.

If you are worried, try looking for one that is labeled “gluten free” or “certified gluten free.”